skip navigation


ROLLINS ALL-TIME RECORD BOOK - Last updated July 23, 2013

1931 - On March 6, 1931, the Rollins men's golf team entered their first intercollegiate tournament.

1957-1983 - Rollins sends a total of 28 teams to the NAIA or NCAA National Championships, including a streak of 14 consecutive appearances from 1969-1983.

1969 - The Tars finish runners-up at the NCAA Championships to Cal State Northridge.

1970 - Rollins claims first NCAA men's golf championship by 10 strokes.

1977 - The Blue and Gold take the runner-up spot at the national championships behind Troy by 11 strokes and earn their first-ever Sunshine State Conference crown.

1979 - Tars win first Sunshine State Conference title.

1982 - Blue and Gold make it three Sunshine State Conference Championships.

1993 - Head coach Kyle Frakes is named Sunshine State Conference Coach of the Year.

1994 - Rollins places third at the NCAA Division II National Championship.

1997 - The Tars take their second third place finish at the NCAA championships.

2000 - Frakes earns his second Sunshine State Conference Coach of the Year award.

2001 - Rollins takes fourth place at the national championships, setting the stage for the following season.

2002 - Rollins captures the Sunshine State Conference title en route to their second NCAA crown in program history.  Head coach Kyle Frakes was named the national "Coach of the Year", joining Joe Justice (1966) as the only coaches to receive the honor.  Senior Rob Oppenheim knocked down a pressure packed putt to seal up the Rollins title and was named the NCAA Division II National Player of the Year.  Rollins took the title by one strike (1,194) over Cal State Stanislaus (1,195).  Oppenheim was also named SSC Male Athlete and Men's Golfer of the Year while head coach Kyle Frakes was named SSC Coach of the Year.

2003 - Tars take second place at the national championship while head coach Kyle Frakes earns his second consecutive NCAA Coach of the Year award.  Rollins also captured their fifth Sunshine State Conference title and fourth SSC Coach of the Year honor.

2009 - Rollins finished the season strong with a 14th place showing at the NCAA DII South Regional as they were led by sophomore Jordan Lewis, who was named a Division II PING All-America Honorable Mention selection.  Fellow sophomore teammate J.D. Guiney earned a spot in the All-Sunshine State Conference squad as a second team honoree, leading the Tars to a fifth-place showing at the SSC Championships.  The Tars posted eight top-10 performances, including back-to-back fourth place showings at the Stetson/CFSC Invitational and the Start2Finish Webber Classic.

2010 - The No. 25 Tars put a close on their season at the NCAA DII South Regional as they tied for 10th.  Junior J.D. Guiney was the only Tar to garner postseason accolades as he was named a Second Team All-Sunshine State Conference honoree.  As a team, the Tars posted nine top-10 finishes.  Rollins only finished outside the top-10 on two occasions with back-to-back 13th place showings.

2011 - Posting their 24th postseason bid, Rollins rounded out the 2011 season with a 19th place showing at the NCAA Division II South Regional.  Newcomer Spencer Cole earned DII PING All-South Region honors as he led the Tars with a 72.59 stroke average.  He collected five top-10 finishes and was an All-Sunshine State Conference Second Team selection.  Rollins' best team performance came at their very own Rollins Invitational, finishing in second.  The team also posted seven top-10 finishes.

2012 - Rollins captured a pair of tournament titles with the first coming at the Webber Intercollegiate and the second coming right after at the St. John's Caribbean Intercollegiate, held in Puerto Rico.  The Tars totaled nine top-10 performances in 11 tournaments and were one stroke away from finishing in the top-10 at the NCAA Division II South Regional.  Spencer Cole led the Tars this season with a 73.21 average and earned medalist honors at Rollins' own tournament.  Cole also garnered PING Honorable Mention All-America honors.

2013 - The men's team posted yet another strong season as they recorded five top-5 finishes and  placed only once out of the top-10.  Rollins finished fifth at the 2013 Sunshine State  Conference Golf Championships, earning their 26th postseason bid.  The Tars' best performance came at the TVA Credit Union Classic hosted by North Alabama where they finished second.  They were six strokes out of first and one ahead of the third place team.  New to the 2012-13 season was the name change of the annual Rollins tournament.  In honor of former golfer James McDonough, who passed away in 2011, the Rollins College Invitational became the McDonough Cup.  Scott Lamb led the Tars with a 73.9 stroke average, capturing his only tournament crown at the TVA Credit Union Classic.  He posted three top-10 finishes with a low round of 66 and was named All-Sunshine State Conference Honorable Mention and Division II PING All-South Region.

2014 - The men opened up the 2013-14 campaign ranked in the top-25, checking in at No. 19.  Rollins kicked off the season in Rhode Island at the Adams Cup and finished seventh out of 16 teams.  The Tars then returned to Florida where they registered their best performance at the Guy Harvey Invitational.  The Tars, then ranked No. 23, placed fifth out of 16 teams with Tyler Sluman leading the lineup with 215 strokes (71-72-72).  In all, Rollins only placed out of the top-10 on two occasions.  At the Sunshine State Conference Golf Championships, the Tars placed sixth and earned their way into the postseason.  Armstrong Atlantic hosted the NCAA Division II South/Southeast Regional where the Tars ended the season tied for 16th.  Emil Sorebo was the lone Tar to earn postseaon accolades as he was named All-SSC Honorable Mention and GCAA/PING Division II All-South Region Team.

2015 - The Rollins opened up the 2014-15 season ranked No. 25 in the country. In the fall, the Tars’ best performance came at the Jay Jennison Memorial as they finished seventh out of 14 teams. Tiago Rodrigues tied teammate Tomas Gouveia for 18th to lead the Tars. At the Guy Harvey Invitational, the Tars finished 10th out of 17 teams with Gouveia again leading the Tars lineup with 221 strokes (77-74-70), finishing 18th. Rollins closed out the fall with a 12th place finish at the McDonough Cup. Rollins then opened the Spring season in Lakeland at the Matlock Invitational, placing 12th. Matt Chamberlain was the low scorer for the Tars, finishing tied for 33rd with 221 strokes. The Tars then competed at the Southeastern Intercollegiate, finishing 16th with Shamus Fitzpatrick and Tiago Rodrigues each totaling 229 strokes, tying for 52nd. Emil Sorebo then paced Rollins at the Bobcat Invitational, taking fifth in the field of 92 to lead the Tars to a 10th place finish. At the Sunshine State Conference Championships, Rollins finished seventh with Sorebo taking 12th with 217 strokes.