skip navigation


2006 – On November 30, 2006, the Rollins College Athletics Department announced the addition of men’s and women’s lacrosse for the 2007-08 academic year, increasing the College’s number of varsity sports to 23.  Rollins became the 24th NCAA Division II men’s team, joining fellow Sunshine State Conference institution Saint Leo, and only two in the state of Florida to sponsor the varsity sport.  Rollins also became the first school in Florida to offer both varsity men’s and women’s lacrosse.

2007 – On March 19, 2007, Andrew Baxter was tabbed the first men’s lacrosse head coach in the program’s history.  Baxter came to Rollins from Mars Hill College where he was an assistant coach since August 2006. 

2008 – In the Tars’ inaugural season, Rollins went 2-13 picking up victories over Savannah College of Art & Design and the University of New England.  In a year full of firsts, the Tars kicked off the inaugural season with a contest against UCF with Evan Mimum taking the Tars’ first-ever faceoff while Jason McDermott scored the Tars’ first goal.  Days later, Rollins registered their first win in program history against SCAD in a 13-6 home victory.  On March 11, Rollins notched their first win against an NCAA institution in a 10-8 victory over New England, the team’s second overall win.  At season’s end, Rollins finished 2-13 with a 0-4 mark in the Deep South Conference.  Earning postseason honors for the Tars was senior long pole defender Alex Gauthier as he earned DSC Honor Roll accolades.

2009 – Looking to make huge strides in the program’s second season of existence, the Rollins men’s lacrosse team posted a record of 2-8 and failed to record a win in Deep South Conference play.  The Tars opened up the 2009 campaign on a high note earning a 14-11 victory over Grand Canyon.  Rollins dropped the next three contests before edging out Franklin Pierce 10-9 for the second win of the year.  Sophomore goalkeeper Zach Cole and freshman long pole defender Andrew Vossler became the first Rollins players to be named to the All-DSC Team, earning honorable mention honors.

2010 – The 2010 season began on a high note as long stick midfielder Andrew Vossler earned not one but two preseason recognitions.  IL’s Face-Off Yearbook 2010 gave Vossler a Deep South Conference Preseason All-Conference credit, as well as a nod on the Inside Lacrosse Division II Preseason All-American Team (first preseason All-American in program history).  Closing out the 2010 season with a record of 3-9 and 1-4 in DSC action, the Tars picked up a number of firsts throughout the season, including their first DSC win in program history, winning two consecutive contests and picking up a third victory to set a new program record for wins in a season.

2011 – A rocky start to the 2011 season included head coach Andrew Baxter resigning from his duties and assistant coach RJ Rossi being named interim head coach for the season.  Rossi had joined the Tars’ program one year ago and had less than two months to hire a coaching staff.  Kyle Hofstaedter, Chris Shunk and James Foote joined the program days before the start of the season.  The Tars finished the year 2-11 with a 0-6 mark in Deep South Conference play.  Austin Ricci set a program record with six goals in a game while three were named to the All-DSC Team, a program first.  Nick Scannapieco and Eric Schmit earned their second straight conference award with Ricci earning his first.  At season’s end, Rossi was named the program’s second head coach in three years.

2012 – Rollins finished 3-12 during the 2012 campaign and 1-7 in the Deep South Conference.  Three garnered All-Deep South Conference nods with Peter Harvey and Andrew Vossler earning second team honors and Nick Scannapieco honorable mention.  The Tars had some close calls throughout the season, including a tough 9-8 loss to Catawba and a double-overtime loss to Lenoir-Rhyne. 

2013 – In the program’s sixth year of existence, Rollins matched a program-best three wins, finishing 3-14 on the year, and a set a program record with a 2-5 mark in the Tars’ final season in the Deep South Conference.  The Rollins men’s lacrosse program will become a member of the Sunshine State Conference beginning in 2014.  Despite the Tars’ struggles, Rollins saw a pair of freshmen earn DSC Freshman of the Week honors while Nick Scannapieco concluded his collegiate career as a first team selection on the All-DSC Team.  Senior Austin Ricci found himself back into the career record books on March 16 as he scored three goals in the Tars’ 15-9 win over Adams State to become the program’s all-time goal scorer.