skip navigation

Atwal Masters Harvard Invitational; Rollins Third

Seher Atwal won the 2018 Harvard Invitational
Seher Atwal won the 2018 Harvard Invitational

OSPREY, Fla. (April 8, 2018) – Rollins sophomore Seher Atwal tallied her second individual win of the season and led the Tars to a third-place finish at the Harvard Invitational.

Complete Results

Ranked 10th in Division II, Rollins was one of three non-Division II teams in the field of 11 schools, which included five from the Ivy League.

Harvard served as host of the event at The Oaks Club in Osprey, Florida and won the tournament by three strokes. The Crimson shot scores of 310-300-292 for a 38-over 902. Delaware was second at 41-over (309-306-290).

Rollins shot 291 on the final day and moved up a spot into third, finishing five shots off the lead with a 43-over 907 strokes.

Atwal started the day tied atop the leaderboard and quickly grabbed sole possession with birdies on her first three holes. She then carded pars nearly the rest of the way until a bogey on the last hole of the day, to post a two-under 70. Atwal fired a winning two-over 218 for the weekend, posting rounds of 74-74-70. 

The win is Atwal's second in the last three tournaments, having also taken medalist honors at the Buccaneer Spring Classic in early March. She now owns four top-10 finishes on the season and six rounds of par or better.

Madison Lellyo jumped two spots in the leaderboard the final day and finished tie for seventh with an eight-over 224. The senior shot 73-78 on Saturday and closed with a one-over 73 on Sunday. Selin Timur was a big mover on Sunday, leaping 10 spots into 16th after firing a one-under 71 Sunday behind three birdies over her last eight holes. The sophomore turned in scores of 81-78-71 for a 14-over 230 during the weekend. 

Lara van Staden tied for 28th with three rounds of 79 for a 21-over 237 and Lexie Toth finished tied for 42nd with a 27-over 243 (84-82-77).

Rollins now moves into the postseason, starting with the Sunshine State Conference Championship, April 15-17. Lynn will serve as host of the tournament at Osprey Point Golf Club in Boca Raton.