skip navigation

Tars Settle for Runner-Up Finish

Tars Settle for Runner-Up Finish

WINTER PARK, Fla. (November 17, 2019) – The Tars fell in a penalty shootout to the Embry-Riddle Eagles, as the Tars finish runner-up in the Sunshine State Conference Tournament.  The match is recorded as a draw, as Rollins will enter NCAA play at 12-4-1 overall.  The Eagles capture their first conference championship, and earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, with a 10-5-3 mark.

Kathryn O'Brien tallied the Tars goal.  Elena Beasley made six saves, including three in the second half, and added a pair of athletic stops in the penalty shootout. 

Rita Okoro scored for the Eagles, off an assist from Isabelle Navren.  Dana Ruchti played the full 110 minutes for Embry-Riddle in net, making four saves and stopping one penalty kick attempt. 

O'Brien started the scoring in the 8th minute.  The senior jumped on a lazy back pass by the Eagles defense, touched the ball around the keeper, and finished from a severe angle.  The Tars controlled the ball much of the first half, but neither team would generate another clear chance in the first 45 minutes. 

It took the Eagles 15 minutes to equalize in the second period.  Okoro got her head to a Navren corner kick, and directed the ball just inside the post.  The Eagles looked dangerous down the stretch, but Beasley and the Rollins backline saw out regulation. 

The Tars managed four shots in overtime forcing one save from Ruchti, while the Eagles attempted two shots, and made Beasley work once, as the game remained 1-1 and went into penalty kicks. 

After the first five rounds the teams were tied at 3-3.  Molly Von Eschenbach, Bailey Tran, and Kayla Crosby all converted their attempts.  In the sixth and seventh rounds none of the kickers could put the ball in the back of the net.  After Rollins missed in the eighth round, it would be Eagles backup keeper Franny Kristiansson who would end the stalemate and earn the title for Embry-Riddle. 


  • The match was physical with each team earning three cards, and the Eagles committing 24 fouls.
  • O'Brien moved into sole possession of fifth place on the Rollins all-time goal list with 32 in her career.  She is seventh in career pints with 77, two away from tying Mora Johnson for sixth all-time.
  • Elena Beasley, Kathryn O'Brien, Hannah Menard, and Sarah Buckley were named to the SSC All-Tournament Team. 

Up Next:
Rollins will await their NCAA Tournament fate.  The NCAA Tournament selection show is scheduled for 6 p.m. on Monday, November 18.

Fans can follow Tars soccer all season long at Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest #TARnation news by following Rollins Sports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.



Tars Open 2019 in Michigan
September 4, 2019 Tars Open 2019 in Michigan